A lover of books is usually referred to as a bibliophile, a bibliophilist, or a philobiblist, or, more informally, a bookworm.

I adore books. To look at them; to touch them, to feel the cover print under my fingertips; to open them, to look at the text or pictures inside, to read the words written; to smell the old, the new or the strange smell coming from the pages; and to close them again when I’ve finished the last page. It’s like opening a door into a different world when I open a book. There’s new people to meet, new places to see, new stories to be told. Everything about a book is just magical. It doesn’t really matter what kind of book it is, I love them all. A big bookstore or a library is like heaven, I could have lived in one.

The reason may be because I’ve been raised by a book-loving mum living more or less in a private library. But also because I love to escape into a different world, into other people’s lives and problems.Anyway: stack of books and magazines on my desk: Beauty In Decay and Annie Leibovitz At Work both bought in England; fashion magazines; Tim Walker Pictures, can’t wait to open and read!; two books about beer; and the novel I’m reading at the moment, Marian Keyes’ The Brightest Star In The Sky, one of my favourite writer.

This entry was posted in Me, Photography, Random, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A lover of books is usually referred to as a bibliophile, a bibliophilist, or a philobiblist, or, more informally, a bookworm.

  1. theveryhungrybookworm says:

    Yay! I love your first paragraph and I feel exactly the same way. Hence…the name of my website! Nice job hitting up your library 🙂

  2. Thanks!
    Think I gonna spend more time there now. I’ve missed it so much!

Leave a Reply

